RSS Feed

A Little Bit of I and I

Working in the non-profit sector we must see hope when there is struggle. See the best in people. See the world through rosy coloured glasses.

As we’ve discussed before in this blog, fundraising is about inspiring people to believe they can make a difference – then helping them to make it.

Sometimes these things are not always easy. We need to be sure we surround ourselves with motivation and positivity. We cannot inspire others if we ourselves are not inspired. We cannot imagine a better place if we do not use our imagination.

Have you heard the term ‘a bit of R and R’? It means a bit of rest and relaxation to rejuvenate the body and mind. This post is all about the ‘R and R’ of fundraising. As I like to say… a bit of I and I; inspiration and imagination.

We often don’t have to look very far in our causes to find stories of encouragement and hope, but sometimes it’s good to find that elsewhere too. Here are just three things – a movie, a book and a song – that will hopefully inspire you a little today.

A truly inspirational movie is The Pursuit of Happyness. It features actor Will Smith and if you haven’t seen it yet I suggest you do yourself a favour and watch it soon. It reminds us to not give up and to keep hold of your dream when perhaps many would lose it. Here is one of the best scenes from the movie.

And then there is a book. A book that tells a story that I already knew. A story that I knew quite well, or so I thought, given some recent work I’ve been doing.  Sophie’s Journey is about a little girl that stole Australia’s heart.

Sophie Delezio in 2004

Sophie Delezio was only two years old when a car crashed through her child care centre in Sydney and landed on her while she was sleeping. Suffering burns to over 80% of her tiny body she was not expected to survive. But survive she did, and she became the inspiration behind Day of Difference Foundation, a charity her parents set up to help other families of critically injured children.

And like I said, I thought I knew this story, and many Australians would  remember it from the vast media coverage it received, but I only recently read this book and the word that comes to mind is remarkable. A tale about overcoming the odds – enormous odds – and smiling the whole way.

And finally, as one of the most famous French songs ever written, La Vie en rose, was the 1945 signature song of French singer Edith Piaf. While you may not recognise the title, I’m sure you will recognise the tune. Translated into English, the song means ‘Life in Rosy Hues’ or ‘Life Through Rose-Coloured Glasses’. I think it could be the theme song of fundraisers; such positivity in the melody. Take a look.

So, there you have it. Three little pieces of I and I for your Monday. What better way to start the week? Now go out there and do what you are meant to do. Make a difference. 🙂

See you in the pond,

The Fish Chick.

P.S If you liked this bit of I and I today please let me know. Perhaps it can become somewhat of a regular here at The Fish Chick’s blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

